#DiversityClub – Sony World Professional Photography Awards

The Professional Competition by Sony and the World Photography Organization is looking to reward and showcase the world’s most outstanding bodies of work. At the pinnacle of the competition is the title of “Photographer of the Year”, one of the most distinguished and highly regarded awards in photography.

The overall winner is chosen each year by the expert jury from among the first place winners of the ten Professional categories: Architecture, Brief, Creative, Discovery, Documentary, Landscape, Natural World & Wildlife, Portraiture, Still Life, and Sport.

The past winners of the “Photographer of the Year” title are: Vanessa Winship (2008), David Zimmerman (2009), Tommaso Ausili (2010), Alejandro Chaskielberg (2011), Mitch Dobrowner (2012), Andrea Gjestvang (2013), Sara Naomi Lewkowicz (2014), John Moore (2015), Ashgar Khamseh (2016), Frederick Buyckx (2017) and Alys Tomlinson (2018).


  • Photographer of the Year – $25,000 (USD) / Sony digital imaging equipment / Included in the exhibition at Somerset House, London
  • Category winners – Flights & accommodation to the awards ceremony in London / Sony digital imaging equipment / Publication in winners’ book / Included in the exhibition at Somerset House, London
  • 2nd / 3rd place – Awards ceremony ticket / Publication in winners’ book / Included in the annual exhibition at Somerset House, London
  • Shortlist – Digital exhibition at Somerset House, London.

Deadline: 11 January 2019

  • Professional is free to enter and open to all

  • Judged on a body of work across 10 diverse categories

  • Photographers must submit a minimum of 5 and maximum of 10 images

  • 1 overall winner, 1st, 2nd and 3rd place + up to 10 shortlisted photographers per category

  • Please see ‘Rules’ and eligibility criteria on Professional Competition Title Link.




Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *